Fire Service Area


The Whitefish Fire Service Area was created on 11/30/19889 by the Flathead County Commissioners' Resolution No. 745A.  As a Montana Fire Service Area, they assessed a fee per residential structure equivalent for fire protection and contracted with the City of Whitefish Fire Department to provide fire protection.  

The Whitefish Fire Service Area is approximately 86 square miles of unincorporated area surrounding the City of Whitefish.  

Board of Trustees

Governed by a five-member board of trustees per MCA, Title 7 Local Government, Chapter 33 Fire Protection, Part 24 Fire Service Areas, serving 3-year terms of office. 

Your current Board of Trustees for the Whitefish Fire Service Area are:

  • Mark Carlson, Board President - term expires 5/31/2022
  • Jim Dyon, Secretary - term expires 5/31/2021
  • Dennis Oliver, Treasurer - term expires 5/31/2023
  • Jimmy Deats - term expires 5/31/2022
  • Calvin Dyck - term expires 5/31/2021

Trustee Elections

Trustee elections must be conducted in accordance with Title 13, chapter 1, part 5.

Candidate filings for a Special District election is no sooner than 145 and no later than 85 days before the election.  The ONLY requirement for a trustee of the Fire Service Area is that they are eligible to vote in the Fire Service Area elections. 

Special District elections are held on the same day as the regular school elections, which is the first Tuesday after the first Monday in May.  

If there is only one candidate for a position, the election will be cancelled, and the candidate elected by acclamation. 

If there are no candidates for a position, the election will be cancelled, and the County Commissioners shall fill that position by appointment.  

Whitefish Fire Service Area Meetings

Meeting of the Whitefish Fire Service Area Board of Trustees are held monthly on the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 6:30 p.m. in Fire Station #22 on the corner of Whitefish Stage Road and Hodgson Road in Whitefish, Montana. 

Whitefish Fire Service Area Map